What holiday people celebrate

Everyone has a certain name for their holidays and certain traditions. Christmas time is probably the most variety of different traditions and celebrations. The three big that are celebrated are Christmas, Kwanzaa, and Hanukkah. Even these holiday have different names for them. Like I guess this year it is Chanukah Hanukkah that starts in 2010, which is this year, or something like that. There is also Islamic New Year that starts celebrating December 7th. Since there is all of these new holidays that some people take really seriously people could get offended if someone said Merry Christmas or Happy Hanukkah and they don’t celebrate it. Like my sister worked in the mall a couple of years ago and she said Merry Christmas to the people after they were done checking out and the people said in a snobby voice we don’t celebrate Christmas. So people who work at a place should just say Happy Holidays, right? But than later on she said Happy Holidays to people who were checking out and they said you can just say Merry Christmas. Haha this is very stupid awkward situation to be in. People that she didn’t even know and she was just trying to wish them a good holiday. Why should people give her a bad stare or tell her what to say. I don’t really care if a person says happy Islamic New Year or happy Kwanzaa and I don’t celebrate either of them and if someone said that to me I would say it back to them. Personally I would not say anything to someone just say have a nice day but some places you work at want you to say happy something or other. If I did say something I would say Merry Christmas or happy holidays because if I celebrate any holiday it is Christmas. I would not get offended if someone said something else to me. I just wish people would not make a big deal out of what someone says during the holidays when they are just trying to be nice. Like if I said happy Islamic New Year to a Samalian and they don’t celebrate it I could be seen a racist. I mean some people make this a bigger deal than it has to be. I can understand how this holiday season might be a huge deal to people and their traditions but if someone wishes you a Merry Christmas or a Happy Hanukkah why get so mad and offended, they are just trying to be nice. Also there are other holidays that people have made up on TV shows or just in life in general. The OC came up with Chrismukkah or should I say Adam Brody did celebrating his Jewish holiday and Christmas holiday at the same time. This was a good idea to combined both because he is not just favoring one side of his family history. Now the more famous one is from Seinfeld as George and his family celebrated the holiday they called Festivus. Also can be known as “Festivus for the rest of us” and this holiday has a weird type of celebrating the holiday with a Festivus pole. I don’t really get this holiday, which is actually celebrated on December 23rd by some people, surprisingly enough. Most of these kind of made up holidays are for entertainment for the public, whether they are on shows or just a goofy holiday name people make up because they are bored of celebrating the same holiday over and over again. Like Chrislamukkazaavus or Kwanfesahlamicmas, which I just made up. So when I see someone I will say happy Kwanfesahlamicmas and they will looked at me like I am weird but they won’t get mad at me right? So it works! If you figure out how to say it I encourage you to try it on people and see their reaction. With all this holiday talk and barely any snow so far around these parts, which is rare, I don’t know when it is going to become a white holiday for people, I mean it is already the first day of Hanukkah today and no snow, what’s going on!? Well at least around these parts snow is dry, but it has been cold and has some snow flurries here and there. I am sure there will be a lot of snow from this day to the day Jesus was born, don’t want to say Christmas, haha. So Happy Hanukkah to everyone out there, whether you celebrate it, but technically it is the first day of Hanukkah, so have a good one and many more days to come.

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

